top of page
Search

White Horse


Are you a fan of Stephen King, heavy metal (think Megadeath), drinking Bud in a hole in the wall bar, all while working with indigenous spirits and a powerful bracelet to solve a missing person case?


Well, White Horse by Erika T. Wurth is the book for you!


Synopsis:

Kari James calls herself an urban Indian and can often be found at the local dive, White Horse. She is gifted an old family bracelet that gives her images of her lost mother who left her when she was a baby. Kari is haunted by images of her mother and a horrible creature and pieces the puzzle back together of what happened to her mom.


Review:

Indigenous horror is a genre I am beginning to dabble in and really enjoy. White Horse is the definition of an atmospheric horror novel. There is a lot going on in this plot, it’s a bit ‘blink and you might miss it’ but I found it bingeable and intriguing. Kari is a tough nut to crack, and she grows on you. Her love for King is something I connected with (I was a young King lover back in the day and slowly getting back into him.) The Shining places a role in this story too, so I think other SK lovers will enjoy those Easter eggs.


I enjoyed the spiritual aspect of the story. The bracelet Kari has formerly belonged to her mother and by simply touching it, she has visions of her mother's past. These visions piece together the truth of what happened to her, and Kari is confronted with some hard truths. White Horse is a fast paced, action horror novel that is perfect for fans of Stephen Graham Jones.


There are trigger/content warnings to be aware of, including: terminal illness, death of a loved one, drug overdose, horror/gore scenes.


Rating:

3.5 stars


Other Indigenous Horror Recs:

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page